Client story

Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group

A state-of-the-art office headquarters for a five-star hotelier that reflects their brand culture

Spotlight

Workplace Strategy, Design & Build, Change Management

Location

Quarry Bay, Hong Kong

Size

18,500 sq. ft.

Layout

Agile workspace for 140 people

Challenge

The Hong Kong-based Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group’s office headquarters was based in the historic Excelsior Hotel on the iconic waterfront of the Causeway Bay district. The site was pegged for redevelopment so there was a pressing need for the hospitality group to relocate their main office.

Built on a foundation of strong corporate culture and commitment to staff retention, the Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group expressed concerns about the potential impact that a new space and location might have on their staff. The group also required a high-end and sophisticated design and construction of their new office within an extremely tight time frame, whilst meeting the same high standard as their other locations.

Approach

To address these concerns, JLL was engaged to craft a new workplace strategy, design and build the new space, and manage the change process from the old to the new offices.

The space was carefully designed to connect users with the surrounding environment, views and location. Staff and visitors will find themselves immersed in the natural elements at the group’s headquarters.

An Asian influence and Feng Shui principles were incorporated across the design. The colours, materials and patterns create four distinct concept zones to capture time spent in Hong Kong’s country parks, along the coast, on the water or overlooking the city skyline at sunset. Green and earthy tones alongside real trees, wooden facades and moss-lined walls comprise the natural zone. Turn a corner and step into a palette of pinks, purples, oranges and curved facades inspired by dusk in the Cityscape zone.

The visual serenity is complemented by sound masking and acoustics to replicate the experience at a Mandarin Oriental hotel or spa. This feature adds ambient background sound to the office surroundings, thereby improving acoustics and reducing noise distractions across the floor.

The upcycling of carefully curated articles of furniture and art pieces from the previous location as well as the use of sustainable materials incorporates a ‘green’ and sustainability element to the design.

Traditional work cubicles and siloed offices made way for an open floor plan, a work café and a variety of enclosed meeting spaces and desk options. Closets and shoe racks – found at the group’s hospitality locations – are office fixtures unique to this workplace. Technology is seamlessly weaved into a digital, smartphone-compatible room booking system paired with touch-screen signage, enabling staff to view real-time room schedules and to make reservations at ease.

Result

Construction of the 19,000 sq. ft. project was completed within nine weeks. The finished design and quality of the office is a testament to the partnership between our client and JLL, and our shared commitment to delivering a five-star office headquarters for a luxury five-star hotelier.  

Talk to us

How can we help you with your next office fit out project?

客户案例

文華東方酒店集團

為五星級酒店打造可彰顯其品牌文化的一流公司總部。

亮點

職場策略、設計與建造、變革管理

地點

香港鰂魚涌

面積

18,500平方呎

佈局

可容納140人的靈活辦公空間

挑戰

香港文華東方酒店集團的公司總部原位於歷史悠久的怡東酒店內,可飽覽銅鑼灣區著名的維港景致。由於該址被劃為重建項目,因此集團急需將其主要辦事處搬遷。

集團一向以濃厚的企業文化和致力挽留人才為立業基石,憂慮新址可能會對員工造成影響。集團亦需要在極短時間內,精心設計與施工建造高規格的新辦事處,同時要達到與其他據點相同的高標準。

解決方案

為解決上述問題,仲量聯行獲委託制定新的 工作空間策略、設計及建造新的辦公空間,並管理新舊辦事處的交替過程。

新總部經過精心設計,讓用戶與周圍環境、景觀及地點聯繫起來。在集團總部,員工及訪客會感覺置身於自然環境中。

整個設計亦融入了亞洲特色和風水元素。設計透過所選用的顏色、物料及圖案,分別營造四個概念截然不同的區域,包括香港郊野公園、沿岸風光、海上美景以及日落時分的維港景色。翠綠和大地色調,結合真實的樹木、木質外牆和長滿青苔的牆壁,形成了一個自然地貌,轉個角就會進入由粉紅、紫色、橙色色調和彎曲牆面交織而成的區域,靈感源於香港的黃昏景觀。

視覺上的靜謐,配合隔音和自然聲學技術,營造在文華東方酒店或其水療中心的極緻體驗。辦事處四周同樣加入了環境背景音效,從而有助改善傳聲效果並減少噪音干擾。

空間設計融入環保和可持續發展元素,包括採用從舊址搬進,經升級改造後的優質家具和藝術品,以及選用可持續物料。

棄用傳統的辦公室間隔和獨立的工作空間,取而代之的是開放式空間、咖啡廳式的共用空間及各種會議空間和辦公桌供員工選擇。集團接待處的壁櫃和鞋架的靈感來自其酒店格局,是這個辦公室特有的裝潢。辦公室融入先進科技元素,設有可由智能手機控制的數碼房間預訂系統,以及輕觸式屏幕,讓員工可以實時查閱房間預訂情況,並可輕鬆進行預訂。

成效:

我們在九個星期內完成佔地19,000平方呎的建造項目。總部的高端設計和裝潢印證了仲量聯行與客戶之間的合作夥伴關係,充分呈現我們致力打造豪華五星級酒店式公司總部的共同承諾。  

 與我們談談

我們可以如何助您計劃下一個辦公室裝修項目?