Client story

Blueprint

Swire’s re-designed Blueprint promotes both dynamic and open plan co-working through private fixed offices and communal lounge areas.

Spotlight

Design & Build

Location

Quarry Bay, Hong Kong

Size

30,000 sq. ft.

Layout

Co-working, incubator and event space  

Challenge

Swire Properties, one of the largest property developers in Hong Kong, was looking to relocate and reinvent its Blueprint co-working space at a new location within their property portfolio. The brief was to create a unique, creative and colourful environment which pays homage to Quarry Bay’s industrial heritage, and supports the increasing demand in space for startup communities and entrepreneurs in the city.

The project required our team to overcome specific challenges, including the reinstatement of an existing industrial kitchen and in-situ concrete staircase under a strict timeline.

Approach

Blueprint is a casual, versatile workspace consisting of private offices and communal areas designed for all types of events, from informal meetings to fireside chats. It is the perfect response to a growing community that needs not only a place to work but also one where their ideas can thrive and evolve into new businesses. It is also a social hub, an adaptable venue space and a place to meet people with a common goal. The space has been designed to facilitate these scenarios, and to support users’ and visitors’ needs throughout the day.

The 30,000 sq. ft. chic co-working space is both traditional and whimsical in design, alluding to Swire’s historical roots and its ongoing evolution. Vintage sheet metal mailboxes and 60s-style floor tiles like those that you’d find in old walk-up buildings line the walls and floors, transporting you to another era in old Hong Kong.

Copper piping and galvanised metal panelling that mimic the side of an old Swire cargo ship and former warehouse settings characterise the lobby, while slick marble table tops and plush tai-pan armchairs in the main café area give a more refined look to the different spaces.

The red and blue fabric used throughout pays homage to the group’s brand colours, and the iconic advertising posters featured take you on a journey as you travel through the decades of Taikoo Sugar’s history. An array of café-style seating – like a padded deck chair that lends its design from a Taikoo Sugar sack and wooden workmen’s bench – provide options depending on the type of tasks members have for the day.

Result

Blueprint opened its doors after 15 months of construction. The space delivers a variety of work space options for its members, whether for collaboration and meetings or focused work, and demonstrates that a workplace can also be fun and creative as well as functional. A key hub for entrepreneurs and startups in Hong Kong, Blueprint has been widely featured in local and overseas publications since its opening. It continues to be a staple in co-working, incubation and social hub offerings in the city.

Talk to us

How can we help you with your next office fit out project?

客户案例

Blueprint

太古重新設計的Blueprint,透過提供私人的固定辦公室和公共休憩區,推廣靈活開放的共享辦公模式。

亮點

設計與建造

地點

香港鰂魚涌

面積

30,000平方呎

佈局

共享辦公空間、創業孵化區和活動空間  

挑戰

作為香港最大的地產發展商之一,太古地產正計劃將旗下的共享工作室Blueprint遷往旗下物業組合的新址,並對其進行徹底改造。設計理念是希望創造一個充滿創意及色彩繽紛的獨特環境,既保留鰂魚涌舊工廈印跡的同時,亦可滿足香港初創社群和創業家對空間日益增長的需求。

項目團隊需要克服重重挑戰,包括需要在短時間內重新裝嵌現有的工業風廚房和石屎樓梯。

解決方案

Blueprint設有私人辦公室、靈活辦公空間、各類會議室以及共用區域,適合進行各種非正式會議以至促膝長談,環境舒適實用。對於日益增長的初創社群來說,這是一次完美的回應,因為他們需要的不僅是一個工作場所,更是一個能夠讓他們天馬行空,並將意念轉化為新業務的地方。這裡也是一個社交樞紐,一個靈活多變的活動場地,以及能結交志同道合的朋友的地方。空間的設計可配合不同用途,並能應付用戶和訪客一整天的需要。

這個面積達30,000平方呎的時尚共享工作空間,設計風格既傳統又異想天開,就像太古的悠久歷史和不斷演變的發展進程一樣。懷舊的鐵皮信箱和60年代風格的拼花地磚,令您恍如走進另一個時代的舊香港。

大堂的銅管和鍍鋅金屬鑲板,仿照往時太古貨船和倉庫的格局,而主咖啡廳區域的光滑大理石檯面和毛絨面的大班座椅,則令不同的空間看上去更加精緻。

場内紅藍的主色調呼應集團的品牌顏色,而具代表性的廣告海報則帶您遊歷太古糖業的長久歷史。一排排咖啡店式的座椅,設計靈感來自太古糖業麻布裝糖麻布袋的躺椅和木製工作長凳,讓用戶可根據當天的工作類型選擇不同的座位。

成效:

Blueprint經過15個月的施工建造後揭幕。場地提供各種辦公空間供會員選擇,無論是協作及會議或需要專注類的工作,通通適合,同時亦證明了工作場所亦可以是趣味創意及實用兼備。自啓用以來,Blueprint已成為香港創業家和初創公司的主要集結據點之一,並被本地及海外刊物廣泛報道,未來亦會繼續在本地的共享工作空間、孕育初創企業和社交樞紐場地中佔一席之地。

 與我們談談

我們可以如何助您計劃下一個辦公室裝修項目?