Article

The power of human experience in the workplace

The workplace is more than a just a place fitted with desks and chairs. It is a living environment that helps both organisations and their employees craft and experience a rewarding fusion of life and work based on authentic human experiences.

June 26, 2019

Jennifer Henderson, JLL’s  Human Experience Director for North Asia, shares her views on enhancing the human experience in the modern day and in the workplace.

How do you define human experience?

Experience is really about how you make someone, or yourself, feel. It’s about putting people’s needs in the centre.

My life experiences enable me to understand what others need. I studied hotel management and had worked in hospitality, sales, business development and facility management before joining JLL, where I looked after workplace experience for local and international clients. That obviously translates into a lot of benefits for my current position, since we’ve got clients from all sorts of industries.

Everybody’s got slightly different needs, so it’s important to adapt to their workstyles and understand the key needs from the staff when applying a human-centric design in their workplaces.

What are the key elements?

According to JLL’s 2017 ‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’ global research survey, all 12 of the countries surveyed agree that the work environment should facilitate happiness at work (69%), followed by recognition (60%); and personal learning and development (54%).

Work-life balance is key to human experience too, although it means something different for everyone. It’s up to the individual to decide. Hong Kong is a very busy city, but if you choose to, you can easily escape the concrete jungle. There’s so much greenery here. For me, I appreciate how easy it is for me to go on a hike here and be surrounded by nature.

Technology such as smartphones brings a lot of convenience, and I think being constantly connected has its benefits. But I also try to put away the phone for at least an hour a day to spend the time completely focused and be present with my family. Technology has been transforming the human experience and will continue to do so, but human interaction won’t ever go away.

What are a few ways to enhance the human element in a traditional workspace?

Companies should consider a role specifically dedicated to the happiness and well-being of employees. 87% of the respondents in our ‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’ survey agree with the idea of appointing a Chief Happiness Officer or someone dedicated full-time to employees’ well-being and experience in the workplace.

At our Hong Kong head office, we have employed a community manager who looks after our colleagues in his role. His job involves meeting and greeting employees, clients and visitors; hosting office tours; and organising fitness and community events for colleagues.

Also to be considered are spaces dedicated to health and well-being, for example, meditation rooms, gyms or quiet zones.

What are the benefits of having a humanised workspace?

Designing a workspace around the human experience can ensure staff feel happy, productive and efficient. Having a community, the right workspaces, collaboration areas such as breakout areas and relaxation areas, as well as the right support system makes your work experience a lot more pleasant.

In fact, employees most desire community spaces (such as coffee/ tea corners, lounges) and spaces dedicated to collaborative working and project teams, as found in our ‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’ survey.

These spaces also boost engagement, productivity and fosters an innovation culture if that’s what the company needs.

How can businesses adapt to the rapidly changing needs of their customers without losing the human touch?

We learn from our clients as we try to understand their current states and needs. There are different ways to find out – one-to-one conversations, focus groups and surveys, for example – but I think the best way is to be a mystery shopper, go to their office and experience it yourself! Over time as our experience grows, we can anticipate what clients expect and create detailed designs that work best for them.

* Please download JLL’s 2017 ‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’ global research survey which can be downloaded from the campaign web page

Want more? Talk to the team

You may also like

文章

在工作場所體會人性化體驗的力量

工作場所不僅僅是一個配有書桌和椅子的地方,它是一個可以幫助企業組織及其員工根據真實的人類體驗打造和體驗生活與工作融合的生活環境。

2019年 06月 26日

仲量聯行北亞人性化體驗總監Jennifer Henderson分享了她對於在現今和現時的工作場所提升人性化體驗的觀點。

您如何定義「人性化體驗」?

經驗是關乎你給其他人或你自己的感覺,以及將人的需求放在中心位置。

我的經歷讓我能夠理解別人的需要。在加入仲量聯行之前,我修讀過酒店管理課程,亦曾在酒店、銷售、業務開發和設施管理方面就職,為本土和跨國公司客戶打理人性化體驗方面的工作。本行有來自各行各業的客戶,我之前的經歷顯然可以為我目前的職位帶來許多好處。

每個人的需求都略有不同,一定要的是先了解員工的工作方式和主要需求,才可在工作場所應用以人為本的設計。

「人性化體驗」的關鍵要素是什麼?

根據仲量聯行的2017年 ‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’ 全球研究調查,所有接受調查的國家 (12個) 都認為工作環境應該促進幸福感(69%)、其次是肯定(60%)和個人學習與發展(54%)。

平衡工作與生活的也是「人性化體驗」的關鍵,儘管它對每個人的定義都不同,每個人需要自己去決定。香港是一個非常繁忙的城市,但你可以輕鬆地選擇逃離「石屎森林」。這裡有很多的綠地,我很欣賞可以容易地在香港行山和走進大自然。

智能手機等科技為我們帶來了很多方便,我認為無時無刻連接全世界有其好處。但是,我會讓自己每天至少有一小時放下手機,完全專注地和家人在一起。科技將繼續改變人的體驗,但人與人之間的互動不會消失。

企業可如何加強傳統工作空間「人性化」?

企業們應該考慮聘請專門負責提升員工快樂指數和幸福感的職位。本行的 ‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’ 調查指,87%的受訪者同意委任一名首席幸福官或專門負責員工福利和體驗的全職員工。

我們的香港總辦公處聘請了一名社區經理。他負責照顧我們的員工,工作涉及招待員工、客戶和訪客,向訪客介紹我們的辦公處,以及為同事於辦公室中安排健身和社交活動。

企業還應考慮於辦公室建設可提升員工健康和福利的空間,例如冥想室、健身房或安靜區。

「人性化」的工作空間有什麼好處?

「人性化」設計的工作空間可以確保員工感到愉快,以及提升生產力和效率。擁有歸屬感、合適的工作空間、休息和休閒區等協作區域、以及一定的支持可以令員工的工作體驗更加愉快。

事實上,本行的 ‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’ 調查所見,員工最想要的是與同事們共用的空間(如咖啡/茶角、休息室)和專門用於協作和工作項目的地方。

這些空間還可以提升員工投入度、生產力和培養創新文化。

企業如何在不失人性化的情況下達到客戶快速變化的需求?

我們一邊從客戶學習,一邊嘗試了解他們當前的狀態和需求。我們用不同的方法可以更加了解客戶, (例如一對一對話、焦點小組和調查)但我認為最好的方法是扮演一個神秘購物者,到訪客戶的辦公室親自體驗他們的空間!隨著經驗增長,我們可以更好地預測客戶的期望,並創作最適合他們的設計。

*請於特設網頁下載JLL 2017年‘Workplace - Powered by Human Experience’全球研究調查。

瞭解更多? 聯繫我們