Article

Hong Kong Developers Look to Revitalise Old Buildings for Land

Hong Kong developers are increasingly revitalising old industrial and residential buildings as land for development in the city remains tight.

March 20, 2019

Hong Kong developers are increasingly revitalising old industrial and residential buildings as land for development in the city remains tight. 

Developers have been finding it difficult to acquire sites in the Hong Kong government land sale, but it is welcome news that the most commercial and residential land in decades will be released for sale in the 2019-20 Financial Year. 

"A red-hot government land sales market in 2017 and early 2018 and large plots on offer -- which translates into bigger lump-sum investments -- effectively shuts out a lot of small-to-medium sized developers," says Denis Ma, Head of Research at JLL Hong Kong. 

As announced in the 2018 Policy Address, the Hong Kong government has re-activated its ‘Revitalisation 2.0’ scheme for industrial buildings. It will relax the gross floor area plot ratio by up to 20 per cent, allowing owners to build at a higher density. The new scheme has also been expanded to allow the conversion of industrial buildings into transitional housing. 

Hong Kong’s Lands Tribunal received a total of 39 applications for compulsory sales in 2018, which allows developers to gain full control of a building after securing 80 per cent ownership. The number of compulsory sales in 2018 is at the highest in six years. 

Compulsory sales is a viable alternative source of land supply for developers to sustain their project development pipelines, Ma reiterates. 

Not only do property developers stand to benefit. The government has announced that it will permit the use of buffer floors to be converted for data centres or telecommunications exchange centres so that the lower floors of industrial buildings can be used for non-industrial purposes. 

Want more? Talk to the team

文章

香港發展商有意活化舊樓,善用土地

香港可發展土地持續供不應求,本地發展商日趨活化舊工廈。

三月 20, 2019

發展商一直認為,要投得香港政府所賣土地並非易事,但政府2019/20財政年度推售商用、住宅用地數目屬20年來之冠,消息受市場歡迎。

仲量聯行香港研究部主管馬安平稱:「2017年至2018年初,政府賣地市場熾熱,而且賣地地盤面積大,令一筆過投資額增加,實際上將不少中小型發展商拒諸門外。」

香港政府一如在2018年施政報告中所宣佈,已重啟「活化工廈2.0」計劃,將總樓面面積對地積比率放寬最多兩成,使業主可改建較高密度樓宇。新計劃亦放寬政策,容許工廈轉用作過渡性房屋。

2018年,香港土地審裁處收到共39宗強制售賣申請,政府降低強制拍賣門檻要求,發展商可在取得樓宇八成擁有權後,申請強制售賣重新發展。2018年強制售賣地宗數屬六年來最高。

馬安平重申,強制售賣是發展商可用的另一土地供應源頭,用以充實發展項目儲備。

此制度不但有利物業發展商,政府亦宣佈將容許緩衝樓層 (例如停車或上落貨物設施樓層) 改用作數據中心或電訊機樓中心,促成工廈低層樓層用於非工業用途。

瞭解更多? 聯繫我們