Article

Co-living: Win-win for young professionals and investors

Many young professionals in Hong Kong aren’t necessarily graduating from student-style living once they enter the workforce.

April 03, 2019

With the private house market heating up again so far in 2019 and Hong Kong Chief Executive Carrie Lam signalling concerns about affordability of housing, thousands of millennials in the city who aren’t eligible for public rental housing have to grapple with the prospect of living at home or paying up to 80% of monthly salary in rent. 

Many are now opting for co-living schemes, a form of shared housing which typically consists of separate rooms with private bathrooms and communal facilities such as kitchens, living areas and laundries.

The number of such facilities in Hong Kong has almost tripled since 2017, according to JLL data. Recent co-living developments include Synbox in Hung Hom and Weave on Boundary in Prince Edward, where a single room costs HKD2,800 to 9,500 a month.   

Co-living schemes that can provide a genuine discount in rents compared with those in the traditional private housing market will be able to attract tenants. 

Cost, however, isn’t necessarily the only consideration for tenants. “Co-living developments are becoming more of a lifestyle choice. They are particularly appealing to expatriates who seek a community to meet people in a new city without the need to commit to a long-term lease. This means operators and investors will have greater flexibility to increase rents,” says Denis Ma, Head of Research at JLL Hong Kong.

The added demand from students who are unable to secure residence on campus and local young professionals seeking to live independently at a price they can afford provide solid fundamentals for investors looking to diversify their portfolios. It’s certainly a win-win for both tenants and landlords. 

Read our ‘Alternative Investments in Hong Kong: A Shift Towards Diversification’ report for more on other alternative asset classes in Hong Kong and potential investment opportunities.

Want more? Talk to the team

文章

共居生活︰年輕專才、投資者各有得益

香港許多年輕專才甫進入職場,未必想立即擺脫學生時代的生活模式。

2019年 04月 03日

私人住宅市場於2019年初至今再趨熾熱,香港行政長官林鄭月娥表示關注市民能否置業,由此可見,城中數以千計不合資格租住公屋的千禧世代要不是接受繼續與父母同住,就是將高達八成月薪付作租金。

然而,現時不少年輕人決定選擇共居生活,共居住所通常設有備有私人浴室的獨立睡房,厨房、客廳、洗衣等設施則共用。

據仲量聯行數據,香港共居住所數目現時為2017年的近三倍。包括紅磡「型.宿」、太子Weave on Boundary在內,近期共居盤單人房月租2,800至9,500港元。

共居住所租金若能與傳統私樓市場相比較低,將可吸引租戶。

然而,成本並非租戶考慮的唯一因素。仲量聯行香港研究部主管馬安平稱:「比起以前,共居空間漸變成時尚生活之選。共居住所對居港的外地人吸引力尤其大,他們希望在所到城市融入社群,認識朋友,而又無須簽長租約。換言之,營辦商和投資者能較靈活調高租金。」 

無法在校園覓得宿位的學生、希望以相宜價錢獨立生活的年輕專才亦形成需求,為有意分散物業組合的投資者奠定穩固基礎。共居住所顯然使租戶、業主雙雙得益。

閱讀本行‘《香港另類資產類別》報告,了解香港一些主要另類資產類別及潛在投資機會。

瞭解更多? 聯繫我們