Article

Why green roofs are a must-have for modern cities

Traditionally given over to ventilation shafts or solar panels, today’s rooftops are increasingly becoming green spaces as part of a drive towards cleaner cities

September 23, 2020

Take a bird’s eye tour of many of the world’s well-known cities and there’s one noticeable feature they have in common: a growing number of green roofs.

Whether it’s carefully cultivated gardens on Chicago’s skyscrapers, urban farms nestled among Hong Kong’s towers or grassy layers atop many of Copenhagen’s large buildings, more cities have brought in planning laws mandating green roofs on new developments.

Toronto, for example, introduced laws for new buildings or extensions greater than 21,000 square feet back in 2009. Since then, developers have had to cover between 20 and 60 percent of their buildings with vegetation – and while they can opt out for a fee, fewer than 10 percent choose to do so, according to data from Toronto’s City Hall.

Other cities have opted for more flexibility. In San Francisco, 15 to 30 percent of roof space on new buildings must incorporate solar panels, green roofs or both.

“Local government policy has and continues to be the major gamechanger as more cities aim to improve air quality, protect against flooding and heat stress during heatwaves, and build nature back into the urban environment,” explains Isabel Scruby, Planning, Development & Heritage consultant at JLL.

It’s a far cry from when green roofs first appeared 50 years ago when it was often charities or housing cooperatives leading the charge in German cities such as Düsseldorf and Stuttgart, today considered Europe’s green roof capital.

Driving a greener future

Today, there are often financial incentives for going green. In Hamburg, green roofing measures for both residential and commercial buildings are subsidised with up to €50,000 via the Hamburg IFB bank.

In America, Washington DC’s storm water regulations and Philadelphia’s tax credit scheme both encourage green roofs.

In London, there are no such incentives. However, it’s now home to some 42 percent of the UK’s overall green roof space, in part through residential schemes such as Barnet’s Collingdale Gardens and Islington Square.

“Since 2008, there has been a clear drive in the uptake of urban greenery in London – specifically living walls and green roofs – as part of the Living Roofs and Walls Policy,” says Scruby.

The challenge is for those areas where there are low levels of greenery to improve, says Erin Williams, consultant in JLL’s Upstream Sustainability Services team.

“That will require more developers and existing real estate owners to embrace to the idea.”

While there are certainly practical issues to overcome, from transporting materials onto the roofs to ongoing irrigation and stormwater management, there are also benefits for investors and tenants.  

“Developers or redevelopers sometimes need convincing of the benefits of a green roof on a property’s long-term value and energy efficiency,” says Williams.

While utility costs vary between cities, the National Research Council of Canada estimates a green roof can reduce air-conditioning use by up to 75 percent.

And comparing the expected cost of a conventional roof with the cost of a 21,000 square-foot green roof, a 2006 study from the University of Michigan found that over its lifetime, a green roof would save about $200,000, with almost two-thirds of that in energy.

Appealing to modern tenants

While green rooftop space can be left vacant or landscaped for recreational use to help improve health and wellbeing among building tenants, some rooftops are going down a different route.

With greater public concern over climate change and a growing appetite for locally sourced produce, urban farming is starting to take off – with rooftops often offering high quality environments to grow fresh produce. The world’s largest urban farm, Agripolis’ Nature Urbaine, recently opened on a central Paris rooftop.

In Exeter, the Crown Estate’s Princesshay rooftop garden, which includes five hives, fruit trees and a herb garden, is home to around 100,000 bees. Since launching in 2012, honey is sold in a delicatessen below.

“Using green roofs to grow fruit and vegetables is a great opportunity to move rooftops away from purely recreational use and drive more value from them while also benefiting the local community and wildlife,” Williams says.

It’s a model that property owner YKK has implemented in Hong Kong to create a 9,000 square foot urban farm producing organic vegetables that are donated to local charities to help feed people in need.

“We’ve turned the building’s under-utilised space into a vibrant place where our tenants volunteer to help cultivate the plants,” says Sotomi Funasugi, director and factory manager at YKK (HK) Limited. “It not only allows tenants to relax and socialise, but it also strengthens bonds with the community by supporting local charities and helping schoolchildren to learn about growing vegetables.” 

While the number of green rooftops – and their range of uses – continues to grow, Williams says there’s room for the concept to grow further, pointing to Paris’ plans to make its rooftops a key part of its green transformation.

“As planning policy filters through and has a greater impact on developer thinking, there’s a strong possibility adding a green roof simply becomes part of planning applications,” Scruby says. “That’s the hope. We’re not there yet - but progress has been made.”

文章

為什麼綠化天台在現代城市不可或缺

通風窗或太陽能板一直是常見的綠色建築元素,如今越來越多物業引入綠化天台,為打造更清潔城市出一份力。

2020年 09月 23日

世界許多著名的城市,都有一個共同點,就是綠化天台越來越普遍。

無論是在芝加哥摩天大樓頂上精心培養的空中花園,坐落在香港寫字樓大廈之間的都市農莊,還是許多哥本哈根市内物業頂上的綠化空間,更多城市已經制定有關的城市規劃條例,強制性實施項目。

以多倫多為例,該市早在2009年實施有關條例,地產商必需將超過21,000平方呎的新建築物或加建的新翼的天台綠化。自此之後,根據條例,建築物最少20%至60%必需進行綠化。地產商可以選擇付費不參與計劃,但根據多倫多市政府的數據,只有不到10%的地產商選擇退出。

世界其他城市亦選擇了更靈活的政策,鼓勵業主將天台綠化。在三藩市内,新建築物天台上至少15%至30%,必須設有太陽能板、綠化天台或兩者兼備。

仲量聯行規劃、發展和歷史建築顧問Isabel Scruby 表示:「越來越多城市致力改善空氣質素,防止熱浪期間的洪水和熱浪,將大自然融入城市環境當中,各地方政府的政策會繼續發揮關鍵作用。」

綠化天台的發展已經進行多年,這個理念始於50年前,當時位於杜塞爾多夫(Düsseldorf) 和斯圖加特 (Stuttgart) 等德國城市的慈善機構或建屋合作社發起綠化天台項目,這些城市如今被視為歐洲綠化天台之都,現在綠化天台的發展已經很不同了。

推動綠色未來

如今,商界對綠色商業理念的認識及認同已經提升。在德國漢堡,漢堡投資促進銀行 (Hamburg IFB bank) 提供高達50,000歐元的補貼,支持住宅和商業建築打造綠化天台。

在美國,華盛頓市的雨水處理法規和費城的稅收抵免計劃,亦鼓勵業主將天台綠化。

現時,倫敦並沒有制定類似的措施,但市内綠化天台佔英國整體綠化天台的42%,部分項目設於Barnet的Collingdale Gardens和Islington Square之類的住宅項目。

Isabel Scruby 表示:「自2008年以來,透過《綠化天台和牆壁政策》(Living Roofs and Walls Policy),倫敦不斷發展城市绿化、綠化牆和綠化天台。」

仲量聯行上游可持續發展服務團隊顧問Erin Williams表示,綠化水平較低的地區較難推動天台綠化。「更多發展商和業主需要支持這個理念。」

從運輸材料到天台、灌溉和雨水管理,投資者和租戶還有一些實際的問題需要克服,但他們可以透過綠化天台得益。

Williams指:「有時候,地產商需要更了解綠化天台對地產業的長遠價值和能源效率的影響,才會更支持綠化項目。」

儘管各個城市的電力費用各不相同,但加拿大國家研究委員會估計,綠化天台可以減少多達75%的空調使用量。

密西根大學2006年的一項研究,將打理傳統天台預期所需的成本與21,000平方呎綠化天台所需的成本進行比較,發現在項目整個生命週期内,綠化天台助業主節省約200,000美元,其中將近三分之二關乎電費。

吸引租戶

綠化天台或會被空置、用於休閒娛樂,或用於提升租戶的健康和福祉,但亦有些天台被用作其他用途。

隨著公眾對氣候變化日益關注,對本地農作物的需求不斷增長,都市農業開始興起,不少天台提供合適的高質環境,讓租戶用於種植農作物。Agripolis的Nature Urbaine被譽爲全球最大的都市農莊,該公司最近在巴黎市中心開始營運天台農莊。

在英國埃克塞特 (Exeter),Crown Estate的Princesshay 天台花園設有五個蜂巢、果樹和香草園,約100,000隻蜜蜂居於這裏。自2012年花園開始營運以來,位於物業下層的店舖有出售花園所收成的蜂蜜。

Williams 指:「利用天台種植水果和蔬菜,可以助於擴大空間的用途,天台不止可以用於娛樂。用戶亦可以從中得益,同時也可以讓社區和本地生態受惠。」

香港吉田大廈業主YKK集團,於大廈經營9,000平方呎的都市農場,種植蔬菜,並將收成捐贈給本地慈善機構,以幫助有需要人士。

YKK集團董事兼工廠經理Sotomi Funasugi表示:「我們將大廈内未被充分利用的空間變成了充滿活力的空間,租戶樂於在那裡種植。天台不單止提供一個讓租戶可以放鬆和社交的地方,而且還通過支持當地慈善機構,給學童機會學習種植蔬菜,加強我們與社區的聯繫。」

Williams 指,雖然綠化天台的數目不斷增加,用途亦更多元化,但這個概念仍有進一步發展的空間,其他地方可以向巴黎綠化天台發展借鏡。

Scruby表示:「隨著城市規劃政策不斷完善,對地產商的想法產生更大影響,發展綠化天台很可能會成為規劃申請的一部分。我希望會是這樣,我們還沒達到這個程度,但已經取得進展。」

對文章感興趣?